I finally met Annie! We had been planning to meet for a while now and it has finally happened! Since I have yet to be allowed to get a phone (you need your Alien registration card (ARC) for that) We planned to meet at the Myeong-Dong subway station at 3:30.  When we found each other (easy since we were some of the few white girls around) she told me that she had a HUGE surprise for me. She had gotten KPOP tickets for her friends birthday.  However, her friend had missed her train and wouldn’t make it, so she asked me if I wanted to go!  KPOP, is a bunch of Korean pop boy bands/girl bands and they are HUGE in Korea!  Koreans and teachers alike have been here for YEARS trying to get a chance to go to one and I’ve only been in the country for just over a week and I’ve already been able to go!

The concert wasn’t for another few hours so we spent our time getting Kimbap (rolled and looks like sushi, but not) and walking around Myeong-Dong which is where the shopping district is. The shopping district was packed with shoppers and street vendors. They had EVERY STORE you could think of.  If you wanted Prada, there was a store for that.  If you wanted a dollar store, there was likely a store for that.  I was lucky enough to find a forever 21 and a H&M which carried clothes in sizes larger than small and medium, WOHOO! I didn’t buy anything but I was excited to know that I wouldn’t be without new clothes for an entire year.

Shopping DistrictShopping District (Myeog-Dong)Once we were done with the shopping district we headed to the KPOP concert! The band we were seeing was a group called 2PM, They were really good! The concert itself was insane! There were teenage girls screaming everywhere you looked, and a crazy amount of lights and fireworks. They even ‘flew’ into the crowd at one point. The concert was pretty fantastic, not being able to understand most of what they were saying was besides the point.

2PM Concert!
2PM Concert!

I did get to sneak a little video in before some security lady told me to put it away.  Hopefully you get to see it before YouTube takes it down for copyright issues. Here it is!